One mascara, two mascara, three mascara, four..


Alright, ladies. Let’s get real here for a second. Have we not searched high and low for the perfect mascara? Brands in drugstores and higher-end department stores all claim to give us that super-glam-volumized-lengths-to-the-max look, but how often is it that we find ourselves disappointed with our purchase? While I would consider myself to be somewhat fortunate with regards tthree great mascaraso my natural lashes, I definitely am not one of those people who enjoy a minimal look when it comes to mascaras. If you prefer a more natural, low-key mascara, not all of these products are for you.

I was initially planning on reviewing four mascaras, but decided only to review three of them, since I had found out that the fourth does not make it clear whether it tests on animals or not. Ironically, this fourth was my least favourite of the bunch in terms of performance.

The three I will be reviewing are the Bare Escentuals Buxom Buxom Lash Mascara in Blackest Black, Nyx Doll Eye Volumizing Mascara in Black, and Physician’s Formula Natural Origin Jumbo Lash Mascara in Ultra Black Organics.

Beginning with theĀ  Buxom Lash Mascara, I purchased this for buxom buxom lasharound $23 Canadian at my local Sephora. I had been curious about the product for awhile, and was willing to spend a bit extra to try something new. Prior to this I had been using Maybelline’s The Falsies, and to my ignorance, wasn’t aware that Maybelline(who I learned is owned by L’Oreal) was not cruelty-free. I was also looking for a product that was more natural, and would not cause my eyes to water.

This mascara makes some extremely grand claims about its product. First off, on the front of the package, and on Sephora’s website, it says that this mascara will volumize your lashes up to 300%. Yes, that’s right. It also claims that with the mascara’s patented brush technology, the wand (which is pretty huge and awesome) delivers the ideal amount of mascara evenly so lashes reach their full Buxom potential. It also comes with a small pamphlet that details how you should apply the mascara, and says that Buxom Mascara is a healthier alternative to false eyelashes, which can potentially damage your real lashes. It claims it can mimic the false eyelashes look because it is easy to apply multiple coats without clumping.

The verdict on this product: 3 out of 5. This mascara is the one of the best mascaras I have ever found for lengthening. It makes my lashes long and pretty and separates them very well with the first coat. It also doesn’t make my sensitive eyes water. I took off 2 points because it doesbuxom lash on my left eye not volumize all that well on my lashes, and it does clump a little. It lengthens great, but when I attempt to volumize it with the method they specify in the pamphlet, my lashes don’t really gain any extra volume, they just stick together and begin to look wirey. To the left is my eye with the Buxom Lash Mascara. Overall, it gives great length, holds a curl well, stays on all day, but it does not layer so easily. I still love to use this for length, and rely on other mascaras for volume.

Our second mascara to review is the Nyx Doll Eye Mascara designed for volume. This product retailed for $9.99 at my local Rexall Pharma Plus. I wasn’t expecting much good to come from this product, but I was pleasantly surprised. Nyx Doll Eye MascaraThe brush is very similar to the Buxom Lash Mascara, except it is about half the size. When I apply the Nyx Mascara, it goes on very smooth, but it applies a lot of product at once. It does volumize like it says, though it is great if you’ve got a lash brush to brush through and help separate after you’re done applying the mascara. The formula does not irritate my eyes, and it lasts a long while. This mascara holds a curl better than the Buxom Lash does, though I prefer to have volume and curl, than length and curl.

Nyx Doll Eye MascaraThe verdict: 4 out of 5. This mascara is not only volumizing, but it holds a curl, and stays on all day. It does what it claims it will do, which is provide volume. The only draw back is the need to brush out your lashes after application. If this isn’t a big deal for you(it only takes a second), I would recommend this product. Not only is it all of the above great things, but it is cruelty-free, and totally affordable at $9.99 Canadian.

Physicians Formula MascaraI was walking through Rexall Pharma Plus one day, and stumbled upon a new mascara from Physician’s Formula. I had never purchased anything from them before, but I was always intrigued because they are organic and cruelty-free. I usually avoid them because of the price, but was totally convinced to at least try their new mascara because of the FULL-PRICE rebate offered on the package, plus the mascara itself was 25% off, so I paid just under $12 for it and am expecting the rebate in the mail shortly. The full price was $15.29, so definitely a mid-range mascara. The first thing I noticed about this product was the cute design of the mascara tube; it looks like a leaf, ha! Now this mascara basically claims that since its contents are 100% natural, the product therefore is not only better for you, but it also performs better in terms of not clumping, lengthening, volumizing, and separating lashes. This is the product I was most surprised by.

The wand is extremely unique, and I was quite put off by it when I first pulled Physicians Formula on my lashesit out of the tube. The bristles are unlike any other mascara wand I have used. Regardless, this mascara is extremely easy to apply, it separates your lashes effortlessly, lengthens, volumizes, and does not irritate my eyes one bit. This also lasts all day, and holds a curl wonderfully. The verdict: 4.5 out of 5. This mascara is so versatile. You can apply one or two coats for a more natural look, but you can also layer it to create a more dramatic look. In the picture, I have 2 coats of mascara on. While I like a dramatic eye, I also like it to look as natural as possible, and at the same time be able to layer on further coats to intensify it if I am going out in the evening. At about $8 less than the Buxom Buxom Lash, I would totally re-purchase thisĀ  mascara, even without the rebate.

There you have it, my review of three great mascaras. As you can see, you don’t need to spend a lot of money to have great lashes. Keep your eyes out for those rebates and sales, you might get lucky! Happy mascara hunting!

2 responses

  1. I love the natural look of the Physician’s Formula mascara! I didn’t expect those results, especially as I figured most of the price was going into the packaging.

  2. Katy, I agree. I was completely and pleasantly surprised by this product. The packaging is kind of extravagant, but considering their other products they do tend to enjoy prettying their things up! Thank you so much for reading :)

Leave a Reply

