Sensitive lips for a sensitive girl…


I was very excited this past Friday when I got home. I had purchased the Sephora’s Give Me Some Lip lip gloss sampler that includes TWO full size lip glosses, plus 8 smaller sample sizes. It ran for $33 Canadian, and that would be the cost of the 2 full size products alone! What a steal! I also purchased the Laura Mercier Lip Silk.

If any of you know me, you know I am obsessed with lip balms, scrubs, glosses, primers. All things lip. The problem: my lips seem to flare up and seem to look post-surgical whenever there are products it doesn’t agree with. Unfortunately, this happens more than I’d like. I am currently packing a pout that would make any supermodel or cosmetic surgery junkie jealous. Reality is, I am no supermodel; I would never have cosmetic surgery, and I want my normal lips back! Here is a glimpse of the horrors that are currently my lips to the left. It may not look that bad, but my top lip is twice its usual size, and I have been putting coconut oil on them as that seems to be the only product my lips will deal with right now. To the right are my lips in a happier, healthier state. The pictures are two days apart, actually.

Now here are all the potential culprits!

the culprits

In order from left to right: Sephora Super Shimmer Gloss in Pink Ballerina, Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in Radiant, Tarte Vitamin-Infused Lip Gloss in 40 Winks, Too Faced Glamour Gloss in Sex Pot, Lorac Multiplex 3D Lip Gloss in Cliche, Tarte Rise & Shine Lip Gloss and Stain in Cherry, Cover FX Mint Glaze FX in Clear(full size!), Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in Tease, and finally, Laura Mercier Lip Silk.

I hope my sensitive lips aren’t a genetic thing, because out of the sampler I gave my mother 2 different glosses right after I bought it.

If anyone is interested in purchasing or swapping me for any of these lip products, you can visit my Makeup Alley Swap Page. My username is orchidally if you need to find me!

I have yet to figure out exactly what ingredient is causing this. What is certain, however, is that I wasn’t aware just how sensitive my lips are and how unnatural and packed with crap these glosses are.

The Laura Mercer Lip Silk practically saved my lips last winter, after a flare up when using Clinique’s atrocity Super Balm. I did take a look at the ingredients on LM’s Lip Silk, and it also leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Mineral oil, parabens, hydrogentated butyl-whatever.. That can’t be good. The only ingredient that sounds fun and healthy is apple extract. Hmm, by apple do they mean the apple that we all know and love? Or is “apple extract” some technical term for battery acid?

Alas, I found myself on Sephora’s website late last night; I was searching for something that would make my lips happy, and at the same time have ingredients that I could pronounce. I placed an order for Ole Henriksen’s Fresh Lips, which is a part of Sephora’s natural company line. Their ingredients include things like Vitamin E, Cocoa Butter, Licorice Extract.. none of which I saw contained in the LM Lip Silk, or in the sampler products. The second product I ordered was Pangea Organics Pyrenees Lavender With Cardamom Lipcare. Pangea Organics has a great name in the organic market, and I am eager to finally try their products out. As for Ole Henriksen, I adore many of their products. I will be sure to do a full review of both products after I have used them long enough.

You may think my lip adventure ends here. I begrudgingly went to work today with peeling, dry, and perpetually pouty lips. A friend suggested I apply Polysporin Complete onto my lips, and they will be back to glam in no time. I arrived home later that evening, and recall my friend’s suggestion. First I exfoliated my lips with my sample of Lush’s Sweet Lips Lip Scrub, and then I applied a thin layer of Polysporin. My lips looked nice and moisturized and certainly felt okay… tingling began.. and further tingling.. and before I realized it my lips had gone completely numb! Yes, that is right folks! I could not feel them one bit. Try explaining to your mother this scenario when you can barely get a proper word out because your lips feel like they’ve just been injected with novocaine! I gently wiped off the Polysporin, and applied a bit of Vaseline. I am not usually a fan, but damn, was I desperate.

And here I sit, with lips that feel pretty damned decent considering all they have been through the past few days. The numbness completely disappeared after about 20 minutes; while I feel like I may just have the most sensitive lips ever, I think my lips and I are going to be a-okay.

8 responses

  1. Crazy Rumors also has at least some tinted lip balms in addition to their lovely lip balm collection. I adore and it’s the only lipbalm I use. Ingredients are good, vegan, not tested on bunnies – all that good stuff. Check their site, also I’m pretty sure there’s a couple stores in Ottawa that have them. Otherwise, oy vey – I feel for you in the sensitive skin department. 😦 Hope you’re doing well and keep writing, enjoying your blog. Cheers.

  2. Hey Alicia! Thanks for the Crazy Rumours recommendation. I will check them out, most definitely! Thank you for reading; That is what keeps me writing 🙂 Let me know if there’s any products you’d like me to review!

  3. Mmm… lets see things to review: Health from the inside out (any real benefits to skin and hair, etc) to taking supplements (flax, hemp, whatever else is out there?). I’m always on the elusive hunt for vegan, sulphate-paraben-silicone free hair products (I will be checking out the Live Clean line) for curly hair, but I think that’s fairly specialized and I remember you having straight hair, unless you have a secret love affair with a flat iron. Otherwise, tinted moisturizers with spf’s for sensitive skin.

    Seems you’ve got your body care routine down – but I will make mention of my ridiculous love of all things Villainess, from soaps, body scrubs, face products, and amazing body lotion (called whipped). Just sharing what works for moi.

    P.S. If you ever want another person to go hunting for these things, send me a pm on facebook? Also, I don’t mind sharing what I’ve got on hand to see if anything can be helpful for the blog. 🙂

  4. Funny I should come across your post. I recently purchased Tarte’s Rise & Shine in my search for a wonderful lipgloss. I was not searching for a plumper. I found that part out during my search this evening.

    Why was I researching my new gloss??? After using it for the past two days I’ve noticed that I have little bumps on my lips and that my lips are darker 😦

    I did notice that the gloss tingled when I applied it, but I didn’t think anything of it. Guess I’ll taking this one back for a refund. Maybe this may help you narrow down your search. I wish I knew what chemical I had a reaction to. I didn’t even use the gloss part just the stain.

    I hope the discoloration in my lips is only temporary. Nice blog site.

    • Michele, thank you for reading! I had barely used the Tarte Rise and Shine gloss plus stain, but I was using their Twinkle gloss that also came with the kit. Since my lips have overcome that disaster, I’ve been able to occasionally use these lip products. If I am going out at night, I can use them, but never as a day-to-day product.

      I hope your lips are feeling better. A friend of mine recommended a J.R Watkin’s product that is similar to Vaseline, but more natural and from an ethical company. You can find it here — > http://www.jrwatkins.com, under remedies, and first aid. It is the Petro-Carbo First Aid Salve. You can pick this up at local drugstores. It sounds like it would definitely help heal lips after incidents similar to ours 🙂

  5. Hi. I know this is late, but do you mind to share what lip gloss are you using now? I have really sensitive lips too. Was using Clinique’s Impossibly Glossy Color Surge, but then it was discontinued.

    Thanks.

    • Definitely! Even Clinique’s Super Balm caused my lips to have a bad reaction. I currently use Desert Essence lip balms, almost exclusively, but there are some glosses I can use that don’t cause my lips to have a bad reaction. I’m doing a post on this tonight, so check back soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

