Lip update, and product review! How are they now!?


I know it’s been about a month since my last post, and I apologize. Unfortunately, a good excuse for not handing in papers and not studying for exams does not include spending my time making makeup and skin care reviews. Personally, I think reviewing these products is very important for my well-being. That is why I’m currently putting off working on a major research paper to make this update.

I bet you’re all curious! How are my lovely lips doing after that horribly swollen and miserable incident last February? I had mentioned several products I ordered from Sephora to help combat the swollen-lip demons that haunted me. They included the Pangea Organics Pyrenees Lavender with Cardamom Lipcare, and the Ole Henriksen Fresh Lips SPF 15. I was so excited to receive my order. It arrived roughly 2 weeks ago, and I’ve been using both products on a regular basis. First of all, I was surprised by the size of these lip products. They did cost 2-3 times more than a typical lip balm in a drug store. If you are uncertain as to what happens to my lips when I use cheap lip products, please refer to my previous entry.

The Pangea Organics lip balm comes in a tube that includes .25 ounces, or 7 grams of product. It is almost twice the size of a typical lip balm tube! The ingredients are extremely pangea organics pyrenees lavender with cardamom lipcarenatural, and the product is also gluten-free! The smell of the product is very calming and natural; you can really smell the lavender. Here are some of the ingredients found in this product: sunlflower seed oil, jojobal oil, cannabis sativa hemp seed oil, blood orange oil, lavender oil, aloe vera gel, and other awesome stuff. There is no ingredient on the product list that I cannot pronounce, and it seems that the bulk of it is made up of organic essential oils, plus shea butter and beeswax. I find this lip product goes on so smooth, and unless I am eating or drinking, I do not need to re-apply it for several hours. It absorbs into my lips very nicely, doesn’t taste bad(it happens!) and keeps them moisturized all day long. It doesn’t give me much shine, but more of a matte finish. Great product, and I’d recommend this for sensitive lips! I just wish I was able to find it locally. I’ll do another update when I’ve had the product for awhile longer.

Ole Henriksen is a great, albeit expensive natural brand. I also have a ole henriksen fresh lips with spf 15facial scrub by them that I absolutely adore; I’m sure you’ll hear more of my opinions on that in a later entry. Now, onto the Fresh Lips product. This is more of a gloss, than a balm. It gives a glossy sheen to your lips, isn’t sticky, and contains camphor, and menthol, which really gives a nice cooling sensation when you apply it. It also, however, contains petrolatum, which is a lubricant commonly used for anything from diaper rash to chapped lips (also known as vaseline!). Depending on your thoughts on petrolatum-based products and whether it is more harmful than helpful, you may or may not want to try this product. Here is some more information on petrolatum, in case you’re interested. If you’ve read my previous entry, you know how vaseline played a key role in the healing of my sensitive lips, along with Polysporin. I’m aware these products are not manufactured in the most ethical of ways, but they work so well for me. If there are any comparable alternatives, I’d like to hear about them. It also contains salicylic acid, which I’ve never seen in a lip product before. I don’t usually break out on my lips, but I guess you never know! Other ingredients include cocoa seed butter, and candelilla wax.

Despite some of the potentially questionable ingredients, I love what the product does for my lips. It is a lip treatment, and gloss all in one, plus it provides SPF. The size of this product is also a decent size. It contains 14 grams or .5 ounces of product inside the tube. I hope it continues to be loved by my lips!

Between these two lip products, I’d have to say I prefer the one by Pangea Organics, but only because of the quality and organicness(here we go, making up words again!) of the ingredients. Some days I am in the mood for a balm, and other days I’d like something more glossy. I also feel more confident with the ethics of Pangea Organics, which is reflected in this product, and the way they present themselves. I’ll be sure to try their other lip balms!

As I was waiting for these two lovely products to arrive, I picked up a lip balm at the Natural Food Pantry(can you tell how much I *love* lip products?!). It is called Honehoney bunny buzz balmy Bunny Buzz Balm. It cost me $3.99 + tax, so it was completely affordable. I got the Spearmint scent (love that tingly mint!). While the product amount isn’t as much as the previous two products (4.3  grams), it is 1/3 of the price and your standard sized lip balm, which is good enough for me. One top of being organic, it has such a lovely mint scent, and it contains my favourite ingredient ever, organic coconut oil! Other ingredients include jojoba seed oil, spearmint leaf oil, aloe vera leaf, and others. The list of ingredients is pleasantly short. It lasts relatively long, and gives a pretty subtle sheen to your lips. The availability of this product is better for me, since I can go out and buy it locally.

I hope you guys take the time to check out these great items. My attention has also been shifted to another ethical(and vegan) line of products, and that would be the Crazy Rumours lip balms! I have yet to try any of these, but I definitely like the idea of the tea scented flavours, as well as the lemon-scented ones. Thank you, Alicia, for telling me about these guys. I will definitely check them out! At $3.99 per balm, they are worth it to try.

Thanks for reading — and a happy lip day to you too.

2 responses

  1. Love the lip update!! 🙂 Glad to hear you’ve found some more products that are good both for and TO your poor little lippies

    As an alternative to Vaseline, I like to use this, which I picked up at Shoppers Drug Mart: http://bit.ly/fII4Vg

Leave a Reply

