Yves Rocher, what in the @#*% is your animal testing policy?!


**ATTENTION READERS: THIS IS MOSTLY SATIRE (minus the part where I actually sent them an email, and my opinions of their products overall). If you cannot take a joke, and are just going to get all huffy and red-faced angry and protective (Yves Rocher is doing just fine – RELAX), please skip these Yves Rocher entries**

I’ve only got a conclusion to write for this ridiculous research paper that has been stealing my precious time, so I figured I’d take a much needed break while I let my face mask do its work!

I went into Yves Rocher this past Sunday with my mother, who has always been drawn in to their stores by the cute displays, their spa they have in the deep-dark-depths of the back of their store, and of course the ridiculous display of deceptive “50% off all makeup!” signs. I have never been very impressed with their product quality, but there is something that disturbs me even more about Yves Rocher.

Can they be any more ambiguous as to whether they conduct animal testing on any level? You question the sales associate, who’s makeup is just horribly done (she forgot to put on blush — HELLO, CONTOURING; her mascara barely shows — it must be one she bought with her staff discount), and she smiles at you with this look of robotic cheerfulness, saying, “animal testing? Oh, no. Never.” (hey, Stepford wife, get back in that movie!) Am I a bitch for feeling this way? Nuh uh, that crazy sales bitch is lying!

Okay, so maybe she isn’t a crazy bitch. But a company like Yves Rocher, that prides itself on being a bountiful haven of botanical beauty, one that is eco-friendly, and oh-so good for you (so you should buy this, and this, and this..), does not make it obviously certain that animal testing is not conducted in any shape, form, manner, or tweezer. Customers who are already concerned about the quality of such products would certainly find this information valuable. Of course, there are those people who don’t care, but that’s what a good selection of products at the drugstore are for.

Here is the one place, on their website, where they indicate that animal testing is not part of their policy. Reason number four, to shop with Yves Rocher, states that “[o]ur natural plant formulas are all clinically tested, but never on animals”. Well that may be enough reassurance for some, but why is it that they fail to appear on PETA’s List of Companies That Do Not Test on Animals, a major source for people who want to shop ethically? There is also major debate on the internet about the truths to what they claim. Why do none of their products reaffirm this statement against animal testing? It only makes sense that they would use that to promote their enviro-loving image even further.

If Yves Rocher truly doesn’t test on animals, then great. I decided to send them an email asking some questions (I was polite) about their policy. Here is a copy of what I sent them:

Hello!

I was recently in one of your stores, and I could not help but be curious and question your animal testing policy. It seems to be extremely ambiguous; while the sales representative denied claims of the use of animal testing, and your products seem to promote this natural, environmental-friendly, and botanical image, I have yet to see an explicit statement denying or ensuring the customer that your products are free of animal testing. Your company is also not on PETA’s list of approved companies that do not test, and I would really like to know what the policy on animal testing really is, and if you do not test, why is this not indicated on your products? People who purchase cruelty-free products(myself included), feel this is very important in choosing what we purchase. If a product does not indicate they are not using animal testing, it is best assumed that they do conduct such a practice.

Thank you for reading,

Alyson R.

I sent this on Sunday, so let’s hope I get a response by the end of the week. I will post it here if I do.

Oh, and what did my mother buy? Well, in between me swatching different colours of eyeshadow and looking horribly disappointed, she had decided (or rather, was convinced by that space-case sales associate) to purchase a retractable kabuki brush. The casing looked very cute. As for the brush, when she got it home and we were comparing it to my E.L.F. studio brushes (which were approx. $1.35 a piece — 55% off sale, baby!), there was simply no comparison. I told her I would pick her up a few E.L.F. brushes for the price of that one, and she agreed to return this Cousin-It of a makeup brush.

See, the problem with Yves Rocher, is that even if they don’t test on animals, I have never been satisfied with their product quality, and I have given many of their products a try. Don’t waste your time, go to the health food store, or the organic section at the drugstore. If any of you lovely readers have found an Yves Rocher product you enjoyed, please inform me!

Until then, Yves Rocher, you are dead to me.

24 responses

  1. Perhaps you should research the facts more before making rude, irresponsible, and immature remarks running down a company like Yves Rocher. If you can actually read, you can see on their labels that they specifically state that they do not test on animals and , contrary to what you wrote, they ARE on Peta’s list of companies that do not test. Have a look at http://www.astrostar.com/DO-NOT-Test.htm to see them on Peta’s list with even a link to their site.

    • Hey!
      I did research the facts. If you go directly to the source (IE, PETA’S website), you will find that they are not on the list. The customer service representative did not even debate that fact.

      I have bought several Yves Rocher products in the past, and I don’t know where you live, but here in Canada, I have not seen a disclaimer about animal testing on any of their products.

      And I hope you can tell that a lot of my “rude, irresponsible, and immature remarks” are supposed to be satirical. I’m sure I didn’t even put a dent in their sales.

  2. Yves Rocher products purchased from the Canadian website make no claims about animals testing despite them being on various cruelty free lists. They have found a loop hole and are using it. Any company that is truely cruelty free will use this as advertising because they have no fears of being exposed.

    To add to this, Yves Rocher is overpriced even on sale and products are poor quality.

    • Thanks for your input, Diana! I agree with you, and this is why I decided to write about it. I also agree about the general quality of their products (at least from what I’ve tried). And yes, the main issue I had with them is that they do not go out of their way to promote their supposed cruelty-free products. Most companies that are cruelty-free make this explicit on their packaging, and I find also go above and beyond with their quality so they shine over other companies who do test.

  3. I love their hydraspecific line! especially the day moisturizer. i also love their second-skin effect foundation… their green flash mask… their 3 teas makeup remover… indian cotton shower gel.. volume mascara… i agree that not everything they have is good, but some of their stuff are actually my favorites. eg. favorite moisturizer, fragrance, etc.
    anyway, i am surprised, too, that they are NOT on PETA’s list, but they ARE on the Leaping Bunny list! what is going on!?
    whether or not they do test, I like that they do not use animal ingredients. they use beeswax, but half the time, they use “synthetic beeswax”. they don’t use cochineal (red bug juice), either. anyway, I AM perplexed as to why they don’t tout and tout about not testing on animals… i think it’s because not everyone agrees with “no animal testing”, and they are afraid of being seen as inferior products (i think that’s how ppl who WANT animal testing think). i’m not sure though, why they wouldn’t “come out of the closet” about not testing on animals.. and put the Leaping Bunny logo on everything! they do have a picture of a rabbit in front of their physical stores, though (saying “we don’t do animal testing” or something like that)

    • I’m glad you’ve found some things from Yves Rocher that have worked for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I have recently discovered Leaping Bunny, and I love them! Good to know that they appear on their list.

      I don’t know anyone who actually will say they want / are okay with animal testing on cosmetics, but I do think that animal testing is becoming more and more a practice that people are conscious of. Sure, some people may not care on the surface of things, but there has been no one I have asked who has responded by saying “yes, I like animal testing as a policy and think it should continue, regardless of how cruel it may or may not be”.

      I agree with your suggestion about the leaping bunny logo ๐Ÿ™‚ People who are concerned about animal testing will know what it is!

      Thanks for your response ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Clearly, based on the different responses, there are other people who share similar concerns about Yves Rocher. And I do not see how it is at all stupid since it has caused so much discussion.

    Also, I don’t believe everything I find on Google. I contacted Yves Rocher myself, and as I documented, they responded in a very respectful manner.

    • Did you take the time to read both Yves Rocher posts I made? I hope you realize that much of my post is SATIRE, and that since I have written these two posts about Yves Rocher I have moved on to more exciting topics. While I wasn’t joking about the horrible makeup job of the sales associate, she definitely wasn’t a bitch. This was just my way of bringing up the ambiguity of their animal testing policy, which the Yves Rocher lady I emailed delightfully cleared up. I have even mentioned things I *LIKE* about Yves Rocher in my other post/comments, but my other point was that their makeup and many other products are low quality and I do not like them. Some people responded very politely about things they too like or dislike about Yves Rocher. That would have been a more constructive comment. Take care. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. My concern exactly. :s but as long as they don’t say anything about testing the actual ingredients, I will not be buying from them anymore.

  6. Yves Rocher is on the leaping bunny list, so they’re supossed to be cruelty-free.

    Peta websita is not that trustable anymore…it lists companies such as Avon, Mary Kay and so on as cruelty-free companies even though they restarted their animal testing in order to enter to the China market…shame on them

  7. Just to put in my thoughts, PETA LIST is NOT reliable, they dont actually go and looking into each companies in details, the companies just had to make a declaration and they can still be buying ingredients from suppliers who do the tests and claim that they are cruelty free. Leaping bunny label is better and I did write OneVoice to ask about Yves Rocher animal testing policy and OneVoice did assure me that they always look closely to the company and the company had to justify and proof that they do not test on animals. Hope it helps

  8. Do people really use PETA as a reference point for doing good in the world? You guys know they financially support arsonists who kill and injure people and that a lot of the animals they rescue are put to death ? Did I also mention that pet owners whose pets get out and are picked up by PETA have had their dogs put to sleep on accident ? Completely unethical. Sorry if I’ve offended anyone, but seriously, research it. PETA is not what it seems.

    • I have heard similar horrific things about PETA’s practices, and I understand where you are coming from. I am curious to find sources that indicate each and every time they did something like this. I think they’re such a huge bureaucratic organization, that the initial ethics of PETA must have become extremely distorted. This post has been controversial, and I’m glad it’s got people talking. I no longer use PETA as a reference, and my most recent blog entry actually clears up the Yves Rocher animal testing policy ๐Ÿ™‚ I had initially turned to PETA years ago, because they have such a big name, and at the time seemed to dominate the internet with resources. Now, that’s not the case! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yeah I understand. I’m not angry at anyone, but I do think a lot of non-profits like PETA are super shady in their practices, sometimes even violating what they preach to others. They used to be pretty respected, but have lost a lot of credibility in recent years due to events about them coming out. Here’s an article talking about the arson associated with PETA > http://www.consumerfreedom.com/2004/06/2563-arsonists-terrorize-utah-peta-pays-the-bills/

      • Totally agree. There’s nothing I despise more than animal cruelty; animal and wildlife cruelty prevention are my biggest passions, but there is no way I could feel justified in harming human being(s), or their property for such a cause. It’s like sinking to the level of the abuser. Whenever a non-profit gets so big, I think it becomes impossible for them to maintain their initial message. There are always radicals who eventually come forward, willing to do anything necessary for their cause. But that just makes all of those who are for animal/wildlife non-violence look like crazies!

      • I totally agree. I’m a big animal lover and I definitely want to help preserve the earth and wildlife natural habitats, but I think that when PETA is approached by someone who has committed arson and they say, we endorse you, here’s a lot of money from us that people have donated to them to help save animals, it’s really upsetting to me because it’s like people want to save animals by donating to you, not help arsonists. Its just so skewed.

  9. But why do they not have an anti-animal testing logo on their products to gain more consumers??!! Lots and lots of people are concerned about it and of course they know that!! I am sure that we missed out on something.

    • Yves Rocher is not cruelty-free, and even when they were apparently cruelty-free, they never had it on their products (at least not here in Canada, whenever I have checked}. I have several later posts on Yves Rocher’s cruelty-free status ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. *about their products* their mosturizers/cleaning/cream stuff in my opinion are terrible stuff that i wouldn’t even go near, but some of their perfumes and lipbalms are quite good. at least they used to be (2-3 years ago)…

Leave a Reply

