Yves Rocher responds..


After several days of waiting, I received a delightful response from an Yves Rocher representative.

Dear Madam,

We were very interested in your question concerning our position on using animals in testing beauty products and thank you for your enquiry.

We hope we can enlighten and reassure you on this matter.

The Yves Rocher Brand entered the fight against using animals in testing beauty products at a very early stage.
As a pioneer in this fight, in 1989, and by replacing testing on animals with alternative methods, Yves Rocher encouraged other important players in the economy to follow suit.

In 1992, the S.P.A. (Society for the protection of animals) awarded us the gold medal for our action towards animals.
Yves Rocher is also listed with the association ‘One Voice’, which is a reference in the fight against experiments on animals .The French association One Voice is the French representative in the « European Coalition against experiments on animals » whose international standards (Human Cosmetics Standard) are totally respected.
The One Voice label, which certifies products which are not tested on animals, is recognised as one of the most demanding. It is the guarantee that none of our formulas or product’s ingredients involves experiments on animals.

In line with our commitment, we openly admit to never using or encouraging animal testing whether it concerns our finished products or their ingredients.
If we develop a plant extract which requires testing on animals in order to prove its safety, then we guarantee that this extract will never be used in our products however beneficial it may be.

Moreover we invest in research programmes on alternative methods to testing on animals. We are working closely with a National research institute on two new methods for measuring allergies in vitro as an alternative form of testing.

Our Internal charter on the ingredients in our products is extremely strict: we refuse to use any raw materials of animal origin.
For example, we refuse to use a pigment frequently found in eyeshadows called cochineal coming from an insect with the same name which produces carmine acid to protect it from its predators and is used as a scarlet dye.

Yves Rocher has been committed for 50 years and will continue to fight for nature in all its forms through its Brand and its Foundation.

We hope that this information has answered all your questions.

Yours faithfully

Stéfanie Comtois
Customer Service
Let me just say that a) I am extremely impressed, and b) I’ve looked up the One Voice association, and it is legit. Here‘s some more information about One Voice, for anyone who is interested.

Now that we’ve got the question of animal testing out of the way (and I plan to respond to her and recommend they promote this information more in stores, because if I don’t see anything on an individual product about a policy against animal testing, I tend to assume animal testing is part of their policy.

Also, while I am more likely to give their products a chance (I did end up picking up a travel size coconut perfume for about $6 that smells lovely), I do still feel the quality is lacking in a lot of their products, especially their make up. If anyone has had a positive experience with Yves Rocher’s products, particularly their makeup, please let me know, I would love to hear about it!

15 responses

  1. I am pleased with this response. Not only is it professional, they provide specific and verifiable proof of their actions. The only thing it lacked was an apology for not making their stance on animal testing more visible on their products. Perhaps they assume that most consumers already know they are pioneers of the cause.

    Thanks for providing us with the follow up!

  2. Thank you for posting their response. I was in their store today and wanted to buy one of their products – but the clerk was busy so I didn’t get a chance to ask her if the produts were tested on animals.

    I never will buy a product if it is tested on animals. So thank you for looking into this for the consumer 🙂

    Now I can go back to Yves and make a purchase and know that no animals were used/harmed etc.

    Yves should promote this – as many who shop at the Body Shop would convert to Yves since the Body Shop is owned by evil animal testers P & G.

  3. I’ve never understood the hoopla about testing products on animals. These are products meant to be applied to human beings. What other methods are available aside from testing directly on human guinea pigs aside from testing on animal guinea pigs of whatever species? While I use few “beauty” products aside from soap (Irish Spring), shampoo (whatever’s cheap), insect repellent (which damn better have been tested on insects), suntan oil and once every-other-decade shaving cream, I sincerely hope I’m not using a product that will not make my testicles climb out my nostrils and generally the only to know that is to test it first on other mammals — if putting something onto consumers _is_ the initial test, I’ll buy something with a track record instead. Of course if “no animal testing” means “tested on convict laborers and all who used this formula lived”, well OK, but I expect honesty.

  4. Yves Rocher has the fact that they don’t test on animals right on their labels and ads so anyone can read it. They are also on PETA’s list ( see http://www.astrostar.com/DO-NOT-Test.htm ) of businesses that don’t test. I have used their products since 1972 when I was 13 years old and have always loved them. If you don’t, why do you keep on going in there and carrying on about them? If I don’t like a product, I just don’t buy it. I don’t feel the need to publicly carry on about it. Not everyone will like each product. Go elsewhere and buy the products you do like.

  5. Okay, stop posting a list that is NOT directly from the source. http://www.peta.org/living/beauty-and-personal-care/companies/search.aspx?Testing=0&Range=8&PageIndex=3 <– that link will take you to the page where their name should be but ISN'T. Obviously, as the email response I received indicates, they are certified by another anti-vivisection company, so PETA isn't the be all and end all of sources for this anyways. It just tends to be the one database I most often refer to.

    I went into Yves Rocher with my mother because she was interested. I don't go in there often, and I didn't have a blog to write about my experiences the last time I was in there. They have a wide assortment of products, so just because I don't like their makeup doesn't mean I wouldn't like something else. I do like their coconut perfume, but I am not a fan of many of their skin care products.

    They do not indicate it on the labels where I live.

    I did feel the need to express my opinion, hence this blog. If you don't like what I'm saying, you don't need to read it!

    Also, did you completely disregard what I had to say about giving them a chance once I got a formal response from the customer service rep?

    Also, relax.

  6. To follow up on this: I went into an Yves Rocher store today just to make sure my claims (which I verified before) were correct. I checked a bunch of different types of products, and none of them specified that they were not tested on animals. The closest to this was the Hamamelis line of body moisturizers, which said that it contained “no animal ingredients”. That is not the same as not conducting animal testing. Since my communication with the company, I now know they do not conduct animal testing. The majority of products I buy advertise this clearly on their products and promote it much more than I feel Yves Rocher has. Perhaps it is because they haven’t been testing on animals for such a long time, so they assume people know they don’t test. Either way, it is important for me to make sure. Please take your rude comments elsewhere.

    Have a nice day. 🙂

  7. I know I’m about a year late on this one, but THANK YOU!!! I’ve finally compiled a list of safe nail polishes, but now I’m worrying about my other products. My mom has been an Yves Rocher freak for years. I don’t recall that she was too crazy about the eye shadow she purchased, but we always get their perfumes. My fave is Ming Shu and I have a bottle of their scented lotion and I love it. Glad to know I can sing it’s praises on my own blog without feeling like a hypocrite. Thank you.

    • This entry is receiving a lot of input still, and that’s awesome! I’m glad that you enjoy their perfumes, and of course while I’ve made my opinion of their products obvious, it is great to know they don’t test on animals. 🙂

  8. Thank you for posting this! I’ve been desperately searching for cruelty free make up… Lush is fantastic for hair and skin but unfortunately the only make up they produce is foundation. I’ve been trying to locate a straight up answer in regards to whether YR products or ingredients are ever animal tested and finally got my answer. At least I can give them a try to see what I think now. Really great that you took the time to look into it : )

    • 🙂 Thanks for your comment! I am glad that this entry has triggered such a response. I’ve learned a lot as well, and appreciate everyone’s input! Even my opinion of Yves Rocher has changed since writing that entry. I think Yves Rocher deserves an updated post, so I will add that to my list 🙂

  9. Clinique and Estee Lauder and Chanel all DO NOT test on animals and produce great make-up and skin care products…if anyone is interested

  10. Here is from Clinique and you can find info about animal testing on EsteeLauder and CHANEL websites

    http://www.clinique.com/cms/customer_service/faqs.tmpl#animaltesting

    Animal Testing
    Clinique Laboratories, LLC. is committed to the elimination of animal testing. We are equally committed to consumer health and safety, and bringing to market products that comply with applicable regulations in every country in which our products are sold.

    We do not conduct animal testing on our products or ingredients, nor ask others to test on our behalf, except when required by law. We evaluate our finished products in clinical tests on volunteer panels.

    Clinique Laboratories, LLC. fully supports the development and global acceptance of non-animal testing alternatives. To this end, the Company works extensively with the industry at large and the global scientific community to research and fund these alternatives.

    • Hi Masha! Thanks for your comments. It’s great that these companies claim not to test on animals; do you know if they are certified, though, by any external quality control companies, like Leaping Bunny, Peta, or One Voice? I’m pretty sure Clinique is verified not to test, but I don’t use any of those companies anyways (I tend to focus on more natural/organic/holistic products), plus Chanel and Estee Lauder are mad expensive.

  11. Yves Rocher has started testing on animals again… to enter the Chinese market. They are on the Do TEST list on Peta’s website…sorry to be the bearer of bad news, as I love YR! 😦

    • Hi Caro!

      I had made follow-up entries that also confirm they sell on the Chinese market and do test. Definitely not new news to me, but I’m sure there are many others who still are unaware! Fortunately, I’ve never really liked many of their products, but it still sucks!

Leave a Reply

