What am I excited for?


For those who know me, you all know I’m a fan of summer. I love going around in nothing but a bikini, short shorts, and flip flops; you can find me spending tremendous amounts of time in the sun, getting splashed with water guns, and enjoying a drink or two by the campfire. While the summers spent here in Ottawa, Canada are lovely, you can be sure I will be getting to at least several debates that involve me trying to defend my anarchist beliefs, and convince others that I am not the cold-hearted snake anarchists and libertarians are often made out to be.

What if I told you there is a place to enjoy all of these things with others who also believe in liberty? At The Porcupine Freedom Festival, which happens from June 20th to 26th at Roger’s Campground in Lancaster New Hampshire, you can enjoy these simple pleasures, and more. With a full week of events planned, there is something for everyone at Porcfest.

Families, couples, and single people can expect to enjoy a myriad of events that include dabbling into your creative side at the craft tables, organized family hikes, learning the what and the how of firearm etiquette, the chance to marry your loved one at a state-free wedding ceremony, and getting your dance on at Buzz’s BIGGER Gay Dance Party, not to mention, all of George’s Famous Baklava that everyone will be consuming! Yes, that’s right! I said baklava. And these events are just the tip of the iceberg. The Porcupine Freedom festival has everything you need to enjoy time with friends and family, get your party on, and learn more about liberty and the liberty community.

What do I plan on checking out?

Christopher Lawless, Stefan Molyneux, and Gardner Goldsmith during Soapbox Idol at Porcfest 2010. Courtesy of Tennyson McCalla.

Since there are so many fun things going on, I’ll have to pick and choose (I guess we can say this is the one and only downfall of Porcfest — it is simply impossible to check out everything!), but I know I’ll definitely be checking out some of the speakers, who will be giving talks on topics ranging from their experiences as liberty activists, to different possible topics such as the use of nuclear weapons.

Sovereign Curtis, head organizer of Porcfest 2011 is shown here posing at Porcfest 2010. Courtesy of Tennyson McCalla.

I will definitely be getting my groove on at Buzz’s BIGGER Gay Dance Party, checking out Tarrin Lupo’s Pirate Party (Arrrr!), sitting in and watching Ian Freeman and Mark Edge host the nationally syndicated talk radio show Free Talk Live, participating in the game of Humans versus Zombies, and many other events, while most likely partaking in the consumption of several alcoholic beverages. I have never been more excited for an event before in my life!

You can catch me at Porcfest; I will be manning the Silent Auction for certain shifts(if you are interested in donating an item to the auction that you feel would be an item of interest to the liberty community, please respond below), and other than that I’ll be frolicking about Roger’s Campground and finally meeting others who feel the same way I do about liberty!

Just some of the lovely people who came to enjoy Porcfest 2010! Courtesy of Tennyson McCalla.

Leave a Reply

