A Review: Origins VitaZing


If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you know that I picked up the highly acclaimed Origins VitaZing moisturizer. It cost me a whopping $50 including taxes, and came with many promises. First of all, I cannot believe I spent so much on a freakin’ moisturizer, but I wanted to see if it was all it had been hyped up to be.

For the most part, I am pretty lucky with my skin. I don’t get massive breakouts, or have extremely oily skin. I do, however, have a bit of rosacea around my nose, so I am always looking for something to help soothe that area and bring down redness and inflammation. My skin can also look washed out or dull (at least I think so), so I often use luminizers or something to enhance my natural glow. Months ago, I saw TiffanyD‘s rave video review on the Origins VitaZing product.

The Origins VitaZing moisturizer has a “sheer tint-release formula [that] magically transforms and perfects to create even, flawless looking skin”. Basically, what this means, is that the moisturizer blends with your fingers into a shade that enhances the natural glow of your skin. You can’t expect this product to fill the role of your foundation, but if your skin is already in good shape and you don’t care to use a foundation, then this will definitely work well for you.

Here is what happens when I blend some VitaZing into my hand!

Just a small amount is all you need!

It slowly begins to blend into my natural skin colour…

Check out that tint!

The final result..

Pretty neat, eh!?

What do I have to say about my experience with Origins VitaZing? Well, first of all, it is a nicely lightweight moisturizer that keeps oiliness to a minimum throughout the day. While the squeeze bottle is pretty small (50 ml), you need not use very much each time. I’ve experimented with different amounts, and a pea-sized amount really is the best and is all you need to get the best effect and use from this product. The smell is a kind of citrusy-sweet scent, but it isn’t at all over-powering. I really like that it has SPF 15, because I do not like to put regular sunscreen on my face. I think it is a good product, but definitely nothing to write home about (at least for me).

If this product was not $50, I would not have such high expectations. I feel like I can get a nice and glowy look from my bronzers, or luminizers, and they do not cost me anywhere near $50. I did not feel that the glowy effect from this product lasted all that long, and I often found myself re-applying later in the day to get that look back. While experimenting with getting a similar look from products I already have, I used my Earth Science Almond Aloe Moisturizer($12.99 for 150ml), along with about 2 drops of essential oil (I happened to use patchouli oil – $7 for 5ml), and that gave me a glowy look that was a fraction of the cost. Sure, it did not cover my rosacea as well as Origins VitaZing, but I’d like to find a product that can get rid of my rosacea as opposed to just covering it up all the time.

This product would be great for someone who requires minimal coverage, or doesn’t want to wear any makeup but at the same time wants their skin to look a little more evened out and brightened. It is quite unique as a regular moisturizer, and I think that if I didn’t have such annoying redness around my nose, that I would probably enjoy it more. The price, however, is way more than I’d ever like to spend on any one skin care product – no matter what it claims to do. I won’t be re-purchasing this, but I’m glad I got to try it out myself!

6 responses

Leave a Reply

