Sea Buckthorn whaaaaat?


I contacted the lovely folks over at Sibu Beauty a few weeks ago, and they sent me some samples of their delicious skin care products to try. What makes this company stand out to me is their cruelty-free, paraben-free, and fair trade-friendly policy.

Sibu Beauty harnesses the nutrition and restorative power of the Sea Buckthorn berry, which is a berry that grows in the mountains of Tibet. Here is a fun snippet of knowledge from their pamphlet I received: “Sea buckthorn contains protective nutrients including vitamins A, C, E, K, minerals, carotenoids, flavonoids, antioxidants, polyphenols, and phytosterols. In fact, over 190 bioactive nutrients have been found in this important fruit of the Himalayas.” On top of this, Sibu’s sea buckthorn berries are full of omega 3, 6, 7, and 9 fatty acids, and are gluten-free!

I was so excited about these products, that I couldn’t help but order some full size versions of a few Sibu products from Vitacost, which arrived shortly after the samples did!

I have had the products for about 3-4 days, so I am only going to describe exactly it is what I got, and I will be sure to do a review in about a month to give my two cents about each product and my experience with the brand.

I will start with the samples! I received a lovely variety of different Sibu products to try out. Six different products, to be exact.

Sibu Sea Buckthorn products in clockwise order: Daytime Facial Cream, Replenishing Night Cream, Body Cream, Hydrating Serum, Balancing Facial Cleanser, and Age Defying Eye Cream

Check out the full-size versions of Sibu products that I ordered from Vitacost:

Sibu Sea Buckthorn products from left to right: Face and Body Bar, Sea Buckthorn Seed Oil, and Daytime Facial Cream

Let me first say, the packaging of the moisturizer is absolutely cute and fresh looking! The scent of these products remind me of a creamy citrus smell. The actual sea buckthorn oil smells stronger, almost like some sort of spicy orange citrus tea. In order to make sure my review is as accurate as possible, I am using only Sibu products to cleanse and moisturize my skin (minus my Origins VitaZing on some days).

Sibu’s products have quite the list of skin healing properties, including helping to relieve symptoms of conditions like rosacea, eczema, acne, and dermatitis. It is also suitable for all ages, including kids.

Here is a link to Wikipedia’s entry on the sea buckthorn berry, so check it out! Check back for a full-fledged review of these good-for-you products!

2 responses

  1. enjoying the new layout! haha, p.s. looking forward to seeing whether these products actually work…i feel like there are 90483 new secret ingredients from various countries that are supposed miracle workers…hence, i enjoy your blogging. :)

Leave a Reply

