It’s smoothie time!


My throat’s killing me, I feel as sick as a dog, and the majority of my diet for the day has been medicinal teas. I need something more substantial, tasty, but preferably in liquid form.

So what do I do?

I make a smoothie! This isn’t one of those post-workout protein shakes that includes 3 raw eggs, testosterone, and growls at you each time you take a sip. It’s a healthy smoothie that is dairy-free, packed with greens, and a healthy source of fat.

I hate following recipes, so I general tend to just throw things together, and most of the time it works out (this is why my cooking skills are rather unpredictable and insane).

That is one sad banana...

Here’s what I whipped up this evening:

1/3 of a ripe avocado

1 cup fresh baby spinach

1 ripe (definitely at the end of its prime) banana

2/3 cup of vanilla almond milk (soy would work as well)

3 ice cubes

drizzle of organic honey (optional)

A little fyi: the amounts are all changeable, depending on how much or how little you want to taste the spinach and avocado. This ain’t baking science (I will NOT blog about my bread making adventures).

I threw all of this stuff into the blender, and blended it up into this delicious green goodness. I don’t know about you, but I have a serious fetish for green smoothies.

The only thing I would change is the temperature – the colder this smoothie is – the better. Also, I am not a huge fan of ripe bananas. I prefer them when they are about 50% green, so it was a little sweeter than I had liked. Even looking at that picture of the over-ripe banana makes me throw up a little in my mouth. Hmmm, so back to some more appealing talk (I REALLY hate ripe and over-ripe bananas).

green goodness <3

This was the final product! I apologize for my lack of a pretty glass, and cute little foodie decorations (I’m a poor student for pete’s sake!). I just wanted something quick to drink back before I went to sleep for the night. And yes – I ALWAYS drink my smoothies out of beer mugs.

Avocado is a great way to add healthy fats and a smoother consistency to your smoothies and shakes. I find ice cream shakes to be way too sweet, and all that dairy tends to have some rather unwanted effects on me (need I say more?).

And it is with this green smoothie that I cheers with you all to good health, and freedom!

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

