Skin care superfruit – Part One!


I have mentioned Sibu Beauty‘s products several times in my past few entries, and that I was going to review a few of their products.

Sibu Beauty is a company that produces skin care products free of parabens, and they are cruelty-free. Their products also are free of dairy, wheat, gluten, sodium, yeast, or preservatives. The key ingredient in all of their products is the sea buckthorn seed in all of its many forms! This seed gained popularity when it was showcased on Dr Oz as a “miracle berry” type food that can help improve skin from the inside via supplements, and from the outside as well with a whole line of moisturizers, cleansers, and more. It contains essential fatty acids 3, 6, 7, and 9, which make it extremely exceptional and packed with goodness!

I received several samples from Sibu Beauty, including their Sea Buckthorn Hydrating Serum, Sea Buckthorn Daytime Facial Cream, Sea Buckthorn Body Cream, Sea Buckthorn Replenishing Night Cream, Sea Buckthorn Eye Cream, and the Sea Buckthorn Balancing Facial Cleanser. Sorry for the lighting in the photo!

I also purchased a few Sibu Beauty items from Vitacost that I was particularly curious about. A full size of the Sea Buckthorn Daytime Facial Cream, Sea Buckthorn Facial Soap, and their Seabuckthorn Seed Oil (you know how crazy I am about oils!).

Clockwise from left: Sibu Seabuckthorn Seed Oil, Daytime Facial Cream, and Facial Cleansing Bar

This entry will focus  on only two the samples I received, and the following entries will focus on other samples, and finally the full-size products. Since I received samples and also bought the Daytime Facial Cream, I will save that review for the following entry.

Seabuckthorn Replenishing Night Cream

All Sibu’s products have this light orange scent. Kind of like orange creamsicle, or an orange flavoured herbal tea. It is not overpowering, and disappears shortly after applying. This night cream is silky, soft, thick and moisturizing enough for my dehydrated / dry skin, and did not aggravate my rosacea that I noticed (though I only had enough to use for less than a week).  This cream is heavy enough for a night cream, it sinks in very quickly, and does not leave me feeling oily in the morning.

This product claims to:  smooth wrinkles and fine lines, reduces visible sun damage, stimulate the skin’s cell renewal cycle, and protect the skin’s natural lipid barrier.

I don’t yet have any wrinkles or fine lines, and don’t burn in the sun, but each morning when I woke up after applying this my skin did feel fresh and look bright and healthy.

Here are the ingredients, which I took from their website:
water, sd alcohol 40-b, glycerin, cetearyl alcohol, behenyl alcohol, caprylic/capric triglyceride, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, stearic acid, polyglyceryl-10 pentastearate, sea buckthorn seed oil (hippophae rhamnoides), olea europaea (olive) fruit unsaponifiables, phenethyl alcohol, sea buckthorn fruit extract, (hippophae rhamnoides), limnanthes alba (meadowfoam) seed oil, hydrolyzed rice bran protein, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter extract, panthenol, brassica juncea (brown mustard) sprout extract, brassica oleracea acephala sprout extract, brassica oleracea botrytis (cauliflower) sprout extract, brassica oleracea capitata (cabbage) sprout extract, brassica oleracea italica (broccoli) sprout extract, wasabi japonica root extract, glycine soja (soybean) protein, oxido reductases, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, cucurbita pepo (pumpkin) seed extract, hyaluronic acid, xanthan gum, sea water, sodium stearoyl lactylate, sodium anisate, sodium levulinate, sodium phytate, fragrance (from orange and lemon essential oils)

My only concern  is that the infamous sd alcohol 40-b is listed as the second ingredient! This ingredient is anything but hydrating, and I am curious as to why they chose to put this into a product that is designed to enhance then maintain moisture levels. Sd alcohol 40-b, or alcohol denat., is often used in many skin care products to dry out the skin (which may help those who have oilier or more acne prone skin, or it may make the situation worse by resulting in excess oil production), but if used on a regular basis it can lead to skin irritation, inflammation, and other skin problems (For more information, check out this article about good and bad alcohols for skin).

The majority of the other ingredients look great –  I am always weary of products that contain sd alcohol 40-b, because I do have skin that is prone to inflammation and irritation.

While the product is called Replenishing Night Cream on the packaging, their website calls it Rejuvenating Night Cream. I’m sure this can cause a tidbit of confusion for consumers, wondering if it is the same product, or not! I’m sure not everyone is as nit-picky as I am, but it’s what I do. :)

Overall, I did enjoy this product, but I would not purchase it because of the SD Alcohol 40-B.

If your skin is not so sensitive, and does not react negatively to regular use of products with SD Alcohol 40-B, I would suggest giving it a try, because 90% of their ingredients are phenomenal.

At $34.95, it is a mid-range priced moisturizer. And since you only have to use a very small amount, the product will last you a long while.

Seabuckthorn Body Cream

This is such a great body cream! I love how it absorbs into the skin so quickly, smells slightly sweet, and moisturizes very well.

The product claims to hydrate, soften, rejuvenate skin, and soothe sun-damaged skin. I will agree that it definitely hydrates, and softens. I did not notice any particular “rejuvenation”, but I did only have small samples to use. I also don’t burn in the sun, so I didn’t require any relief in that regard.

Ingredients: DI Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol Glycerin, Sodium Levulinate, Sodium Anisate, Polyglyceryl-10 Pentastearate, Behenyl Alcohol, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Hippophae Rhamnoides (Seabuckthorn) Seed Oil, Behenyl Alcohol, Hippophae Rhamnoides (Seabuckthorn) Fruit Pulp, Fragrance (orange / lemon oils), Hippophae Rhamnoides (Seabuckthorn) Fruit Oil, Meadowfoam Seed Oil, Shea Butter, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Xanthan Gum, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Unsaponifiables, Sodium Phytate, Panthenol

At $14.95, it is more than I typically spend on a body cream, but I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to others who have dry skin/sensitive type skin, and I am sure it would be great for normal skin too. I am not sure about how well it would work in the winter – you’ll just have to try it out and see!

Check back again in to read the next reviews from this great company, coming soon!

2 responses

  1. Informative!! I might just get that body cream for my skin, sounds awesome! I had no idea about that particular alcohol, either. I felt like I just got an enjoyable little science lesson in there as well! ;)

Leave a Reply

