Skin care emerginC!


I received several emerginC products to test out and review! I hadn’t even requested them, and I love surprise skin care samples!

Here are the samples I received:

From left to right: emerginC’s Scientific Organics’ Kombucha Cleanser, Phytocell Cream, Phytocell Detox Mask

These products come from a skin care company called emerginC. The samples they sent me are from their Scientific Organics line. emerginC is a company that develops skin care products that are paraben-free, free of artificial colours and fragrances, free of animal testing and also animal ingredients. In other words – this company is right up my alley!

Unfortunately, I am not really able to give a full-fledged review on these products, since I was only given small samples. But I will give you a detailed explanation of what I think, and whether the products are something I would purchase or not.

So let’s get started with review, beginning with the Kombucha cleanser!

Kombucha Cleanser

This product is geared towards all skin types. On emerginC’s website, the product is said to be a “gentle, effective, deep cleanser…that helps remove environmental pollutants, excess oil and makeup without drying the skin”.

Here is a link to the full list of ingredients in the product, and here is the active ingredients in the product that are listed on their website:

Kombucha, grape stem cells, algae extract, glycerin, brightening complex with xylose and galactose from palmaria palmata, spirulina, green tea, white tea, aloe vera, maritime pine bark extract.

While I did not notice much of a lather with this cleanser, I loved the feel of it on my skin, and the light citrus scent (which I am sure is the grapefruit peel oil in the product). The scent just refreshes and wakes you up in the morning! It washes off easily, and after I pat my face dry, my skin retains an impressive level of moisture. It hasn’t caused any skin irritation or breakouts, and my skin is so soft after using it! I use it in the morning, so I was unable to try it with makeup removal. If I do (I’ve still got some left!), I will definitely report!

This cleanser runs at $34 (USD I believe?), which is mid-range to expensive cleanser, in my opinion. There really isn’t anything I dislike about this product. Whether a product lathers or not is not a determining factor in my purchasing it.Ā  There are other products I could recommend that are cheaper, but healthy skin is definitely an investment. If you are willing to invest in your skin, then this would be a cleanser that I would recommend. Not to mention all the delicious and good-for-you ingredients they put in it!

Phytocell Cream

While I liked the Kombucha cleanser, I LOVE this cream. It is thick, very moisturizing, does not leave your skin with that dry-ish feeling after applying, and I have had no adverse reaction to it.

This cream has an age-fighting property to it, and contains “concentrated grape stem cells designed to help revitalize, protect, brighten and renew skin”. It is also designed for all skin types. For myself, who has dry and dehydrated skin, I require a moisturizer that is heavy enough to prevent dryness, but not so heavy that my skin feels like an oil slick in the morning.

They claim this cream “fights free-radical damage, hydrates, protects, and improves tone and texture”. While I can’t really comment on long-term benefits, it definitely does hydrate well, and my skin feels so soft after using it! I’ve had less redness around my nose, and less flaky skin around the same area too. I don’t know if that is a result of using this, but I’m sure it can’t hurt!

Here is a link to the full list of ingredients, and the active ingredients as listed on their website are:

Kombucha, grape stem cells, algae extract, glycerin, brightening complex with xylose and galactose from palmaria palmata, green tea, white tea, hydrating complex with glucose and xylitol, food grade seaweed.

This product will cost you $85 as listed on their website. For a moisturizer, this is quite expensive, and I would never be able to afford this (at least at this point in my life). If I had the money, however, I would totally buy it.

And I forgot to mention: it smells amazing. It has the same light citrus scent that the cleanser has. So refreshing and clean. LOVE IT!

Phytocell Detox Mask

Another product that is good for all skin types, this mask is described as a “French-green-clay-based ‘Detox’ mask designed to draw out impurities, nourish, soothe, brighten, fight free-radical damage and improve tone and texture”.

I love a good face mask, and I tried this one today for the first time. I like to do my masks from 1-2 times a week, depending on the mask and what it is designed to do. Doing these treatments on a regular basis can give your skin that extra glow you’ve been looking for.

It is recommended by emerginC to use this mask 1-3 times a week, and expect a result of “bright, healthy and detoxified with a radiant glow”.

I applied a thin layer to my face (after cleansing and steaming my face), and left it on for 15 minutes. Washing the mask off, I felt like my skin had become SO soft. It felt so good afterwards, and I can’t wait to do it again.

Here is the link to the complete list of ingredients in the mask, and here are the active ingredients:

French green clay, kombucha, grape stem cells, algae extract, glycerin, brightening complex with xylose and galactose from palmaria palmata, food grade seaweed.

It’s got the same smell as the previous two products, which I absolutely love.

At $50, it is expensive, but a mask is not something you use every day. With the mask and the cream, you only have to use a very small amount, so it will last you quite awhile – the mask even moreso!

All three of these products have been a delight to test out!

Their website has a “what’s best for MY skin?” section, where you can look up which emerginC products are best for your skin type. The primary active ingredient in their Scientific Organics line is kombucha. Kombucha is a fermented tea that is used to enhance immune system function, increase energy levels, and general well-being.

With regards to the skin, kombucha can help eliminate psoriasis, acne, dry skin, and other skin conditions because of its probiotic nature (similar to yoghurt).

Here is a site that conducted a survey, showing the results of over 600 people’s experiences consuming or using kombucha, and the positive effects it had on their health.

Your skin will drink it up!

One response

  1. Another good review! I’m really liking the mask and I think I might give it a go. Not really a mask guy, but who knows? Softer skin might just be worth it.

    šŸ˜‰

    At least now I have a better idea of what to get you for your birthday!!! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

