Essie Nail Lacquer Long-Awaited Reviews!


It would be such a great thing if I was able to indulge in my beauty fetish on a 24/7 basis; putting most of my energy into writing about all the fun things that tickle my fancy, and that I’m sure tickle yours as well! Thank you to those who keep reading, and commenting! It inspires me to keep going.

Onto what you’ve been waiting for!

left to right: Sew Psyched, Smokin’ Hot, No More Film, E-nuf is E-nuf, and Turquoise & Caicos

I will be giving you a brief review of each of these Essie colours. As I had mentioned previously, I’ll be reviewing each product based on ease of application, how many coats required for best colour, how true the colour in the bottle is to the applied colour, longevity of the polishes, and drying time!

Sew Psyched #704: Two coats is all you need of this polish for maximum colour.  Essie’s site calls this colour a “cashmere-soft sage pewter”. I would never be able to come up with such an elaborate description, myself, but now that I think of it – that is so accurate! In simpler terms, I’d describe it as a dull green with grey tint. It applies very easily, and the consistency is not too thin or too thick. This colour lasted for 3 days on my nails without chipping, and I pick at my nails like nothing else! Love it! I will definitely buy this colour again. This is my most used Essie colour.

Smokin’ Hot # 700:  This colour is thinner in consistency than Sew Psyched, though two coats is still sufficient to achieve the best look. It is a delightful rich and creamy grey-ish brown. It lasted for about 4 days on my nails. This is another neutral that goes well with everything, but is so unique that it never fails to excite me each time I put it on. Win!

No More Film # 911:  This colour hails from Essie’s recent Resort 2012 Collection! I absolutely adore this intensely vivid creamy dark purple. The consistency is the same as the previous, although it is much more pigmented; with one layer, I was able to completely cover my nails. It felt awkward only using one coat, so I used two for safe measure. It lasted only 1 1/2 days before chipping, but I’m willing to give it many more chances before I decide whether I’ll buy it again or more.

E-nuf is E-nuf # 576:  Some may call it a deep orange, but I’d say it’s a beautifully bright coral colour. This polish burns so brightly (and by that I mean it’s intensely bright; I do not set my nail polish on fire), but it’s such a charismatic colour that I can’t help but keep going back to it. Two coats are all you need, though it is equally pigmented as No More Film. I had this colour on my nails for 4 days before it chipped. Consistency is similar to the others; it is very easy to apply. Will re-purchase!

Turquoise & Caicos #752: Teal is my absolutely favourite colour, and that includes (for the most part), any variation of aqua, or green-ish blue. I had eyed this polish for months at the store until I decided to buy it (ridiculous; I know!). I wish I could say this colour blew me away, but it didn’t. The problem was that it took at least 3 coats for the colour to become opaque and accurate to the colour in the bottle. And then took longer to try, hence more likely to screw up. It did stay on my nails, without chipping, for about 4 days. I still enjoy using it because it is such a refreshing and summery minty ocean colour that reminds me of days on the beach. I will probably not buy it again; I am still on the lookout for a colour like this that is more pigmented.

All of these Essie nail lacquers dried quickly (a couple of minutes) and evenly.

Love, love, love!

Now, if only I had a better camera (or iPhone 4s) to capture these colours better!

7 responses

  1. Sew Psyched is on my wish list…gotta get that one for sure! Enuf is Enuf sounds like I would really like it too. Teals and aquas are my favorite colors too. Turquoise and Caicos was my first Essie polish.

    • Ha ha.. my wish list is neverending 🙂
      Sparitual makes my absolute favourite teal; it’s called Emerald City. Their polish is vegan, and sold at a lot of spas. It takes three layers, but the formula is so easy to apply that it’s worth it.

      • I actually am pretty loyal to Essie in terms of nail polish haha so most of my polishes are from Essie.

        One that comes to mind is China Glaze’s For Audrey, its a bit darker and a bit more blue-tone than turquoise and caicos. It’s basically the “tiffany blue”. I always get a ton of compliment when I wear that one too! 🙂

        Lately I have just been obsessed with pastel colours haha.

Leave a Reply

