One Voice Responds; Re: Yves Yocher’s Status


As promised, here is the response I received from the French animal welfare organization, One Voice. Keep in mind, their response (which is italicized) is in European French, so I’ll do my best to translate for you all. Parts of the message that are highlighted are of particular importance, and I’ll jump in mid-response to explain what is meant. The gist of it: Yves Rocher no longer maintains the requirements of the One Voice label.

“Bonjour,

Merci pour votre message.

Notre label est plus complet dorénavant car il s’étend à d’autres produits que d’hygiène et cosmétiques.

Nos nouveaux critères : aucun ingrédient testé, pas de matière animale et bio, sont plus exigeants et en lien avec notre éthique ; mais ils correspondent également aux modes de consommation émergents.”

  • One Voice has newer standards than they used to, and this now includes: all ingredients that make up a product must NOT have been tested on animals, and must be organic
  • These principles, though more stringent, are more in line with One Voice’s ethics. One Voice sees this reflected in consumer trends

“Nous communiquons par produits et non plus par gammes et entreprises comme avant. Yves Rocher avait notre ancien label.”

  • Yves Rocher was certified under the previous standards of One Voice

Nous contactons les entreprises qui avaient notre ancien label pour leur présenter le nouveau et puis analyser leurs produits pouvant correspondre à nos nouveaux critères. Bien évidemment, la condition sine qua non d’obtention du label, comme pour notre ancien label, est ce qu’aucun ingrédient n’ait été testé.

  • One Voice reached out to the companies who met their old standards, to see if their products qualified for One Voice certification under new standards
  • Of course, the mandatory condition to qualify was that not one ingredient in any of their products (not the final products themselves) had been tested

“Quand les entreprises communiquent, elles parlent en termes de produits finis ; n’ayant pas le droit de faire mention des ingrédients. Il n’ y a également aucune obligation de mettre un logo sur les emballages.”

  • Many companies often speak only of the final product, when they make cruelty-free claims; neglecting the individual ingredients

“La liste actuelle n’est pas exhaustive car nous avons de nombreux dossiers en cours.

http://label.one-voice.fr/produits/

Merci pour l’intérêt que vous portez à nos actions et la défense animale.

Bien cordialement,

Michèle
Responsable des relations
02 51 83 18 10
12 rue Gustave Eiffel   44810 HÉRIC
Tél. 02 51 83 18 10 / fax 02 51 83 18 18
www.one-voice.fr

  • This last part mentions a link that I’d been searching for, where a consumer can search for a product to see if it meets One Voice standards
  • The list is obviously constantly being updated / changing because of situations such as this, and they’ve always got several open cases under investigation

So there you have it. I’ll gladly contact more organizations, if people like. But at this point, I’m quite certain we can file Yves Rocher into the cruelty category.

Thank you for reading!

5 responses

  1. Thank you for researching! The non-tested product vs tested individual components is one I wish would be pinned down more, so I’m really glad people like One Voice (and you!) are doing this. I also wonder – in terms of nail polishes – whether the bases are tested, as it’s made in a few giant labs, and then again, the finished product won’t have been. I guess we will find out in the fullness of time. I don’t though, particularly like ‘organic’ being part of the deal – to me its FAR more important that things aren’t tested on animals, the organic fight is a strange one (eg here, your farm cannot be certified organic if you have treated fence posts. Even if EVERYTHING else is organic). but so pleased people are looking into this! Thanks again, really nice article. 🙂

    • Hey you! I understand your dislike for the organic requirement, but One Voice maintains a certain level of standard. I also share your primary concern that my products aren’t tested on animals in any way; this comes before my concern for organic products. And yes, it can become a huge bureaucratic mess, when it comes to becoming “certified” organic. For myself, I look for products that have as little and simple ingredients as possible. Ie, nutritious ingredients that I can identify. Frankly, the certifications from Leaping Bunny, One Voice, and other animal welfare organizations, do much more for animal welfare than any organization that’s sole basis is organic certification. Thank you for reading!

  2. These are bad news for me ! I used to love Yves Rocher. Now I will be no longer able to use their products. So sad. Anyway, animals are more important than personal Beauty.
    By the way, I wanted to thank you for following my blog. I think it might be hard to read because it is in spanish but translators now days are really awesome. Also, I think you might find more interesting my other blog. Then again, the problem might be the language. I am trying this new project because in my country since we are a Third World Country our consumer habits are controlled by the big brands and big companies like procter and gamble, unilever, nestle, garnier and so on. We do not find a lot of alternatives for this brands that test on animals. Maybe (in a time of boredom) you could check this out.
    http://smallactionsbigchange.wordpress.com/ .
    P.S. I love your blog !

    • Thank you so much! I started my blog so I could get the word out on cruelty-free products, and expose companies that do test in one way or another on animals. I hope you write more! Your English isn’t bad at all, though I am almost fluent in French, so I ought to try reading more of your Spanish entries (I’m sure I’ll be surprised at what I understand!).

      Which country do you live in, may I ask? 🙂 I’m grateful to live here in Canada, though our market is dominated by similar brands like the ones you mentioned. Is it possible for you to order products online? I’m sure there are some cruelty-free companies you could most certainly order from via the internet 🙂

      I will check out the other blog you mentioned! Thank you for your thoughts 🙂

  3. wow i find out your blog, the truth is in my country is hard find a cheap label ..believe me in my country this is “cheap”, 3rd world you know, but the brand really works for me and it so sad find this(really there is not lot of options around) the only thing that came into my mind is nothing but write that the company to try to fix the things, and ask the people to make the same, they have make lot of things in reforesting some natural areas in my country so ill give them the chance to make things like they should ..if not.. i don’t know what the hell im going to use, since my skin can stand many other products ha but i can consume an hypocrite company

    I cant say im a completly animal caring people since im not vegan and the simple fact of be a city person consuming lots of natural resouces or energy, but im trying to reduce my animal consume less as posible, and help a little to some activist. so i really this turns to be the best

Leave a Reply

