Ending Animal Testing: Who DOES and DOESN’T test?


Unilever is the mother-company of these brands, and not only are these brands of crap quality ingredient-wise, they are also a part of the animal-testing crisis we see today.

Part of the major reason why I began this blog, was because of my close connection with animals, and my disgust that these precious creatures were being abused, and tested on for something as superficial as cosmetics, or household supplies. I oppose animal testing of all forms, and whether it is through my animal sitting services, this blog, or how I care for any animal I meet, it is the passion that drives me!

/end sentimental portion

I was in the drug store earlier today, and that’s what sparked my desire to write this entry for you all. I needed to buy mouthwash, and unfortunately the shelves were dominated by the likes of Colgate and Crest. I picked the Tom’sΒ  of Maine baking soda mouthwash. Love this stuff!

I’m always trying to reform the choices I make, and to keep up with what is and isn’t cruelty-free. I wanted to buy some tea, and I reached for some Lipton black tea with lemon, then realized it was Unilever (duh, Alyson!). This is NOT a cruelty-free brand. The product may just be tea, but on some level it is funding the company’s continued abuse of animals.

I think it’s high time, and extremely useful, to be able to provide my readers with a collection of reliable animal welfare organizations, who all compile their own shopping guides aka lists of brands that DO test, and that DO NOT test. For the longest time, PETA was the most common organization to do this.Β  Unfortunately, their reputation has been compromised, and they no longer seem to be a commonly considered reliable source for cruelty-free consumers.

And here are the organizations I will recommend you take a look at! Click on their logos to visit their websites and begin browsing for cruelty-free brands!

_____________________

_______________________

____________________________________________________

There are more of these organizations out there, so I would appreciate it if people commented below with links to more. Each of these organizations have their own unique standards, but overall, they are quite consistent with their anti-testing policies.

There are many little things people can do, whether it is switching their brand of toothpaste, or choosing not to consume meat from factory farms. All of these efforts work to limit, and hopefully eventually bring an end to needless suffering.

My darling Stella (pictured above) thanks you for reading, and hopes you will consider to make cruelty-free choices in your future.

18 responses

  1. Nice post! It’s hard to find non-testing companies,and thats a crying shame. It should be impossible to find some who test.It’s completely unnecessary. Pretty Stella!

    • I enjoy how we liked one another’s posts at almost the exact same time πŸ™‚ Thank you! If you know what brands to look for, it can be pretty easy. The trick is weeding through all the brands that do test! πŸ™‚ And I’m happy to help!

  2. Another animal rights organization is PETA, of course. Also, I like Farm Sanctuary, although they deal with animals abused in the farming industry, not in the animal testing industry. Nice blog, keep up the good work I enjoy reading πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I’m thinking of listing PETA, although people have been questioning their credibility. The last time I looked at the list (which in truth was about a year ago), Revlon was still on there! And they are not cruelty-free. Perhaps they have different criteria. For example, some of them will require the company to be organic, and free of any animal ingredients whatsoever (One Voice), while some even allow companies like Tom’s of Maine, who are a cruelty-free subsidiary of a company that does test (as we see on Leaping Bunny’s list). I think I’m going to compile a massive list of these organizations and make it an extra page on my blog, so it’s easier to access. I will check out Farm Sanctuary! Thank you my dear πŸ™‚

      • You’re doing a good job. Many people still don’t know that by drinking Lipton tea or buying a bottle of Nestle juice they are giving their hard-earned money to corporations that not only are known to abuse people and environment but also carry out these horrible tests on animals. The more we write about it, the more people will hear and know and (hopefully) start buying things from smaller, local companies or at least those that are more people and animal friendly.

  3. So long as these corporate behemoths have the mechanism of government to continue manipulating the markets in which they operate to their favor it will be difficult at best to attempt to employ what ought to be the only regulatory control on their behavior; market demand for their products or services.

    That said, it’s still worthwhile to identify the brands put forth by the people employing business practices which you don’t agree with.

    • Agreed, Jeff! My latest post identifies more of these brands, and briefly brings up the more of the harm than good caused by monopolies / corporations and government regulations. I think it’s even more important to talk about the brands that employ practices we DO agree with. πŸ™‚

  4. I just had an alert from PETA that Urban Decay are now selling to china and so joining that growing list of companies that are going back on their policies of not animal testing.
    I had just started using their products! I am now NOT HAPPY!!!!!! Running out of products to use 😦

  5. Pingback: Get To Know Your Labels… | Mother Nature's Snuggery

  6. Pingback: Get To Know Your Labels… | Mother Nature's Snuggery

  7. Pingback: Get To Know Your Labels! « Mother Nature's Snuggery

Leave a Reply

