I love Market Organics (a mini haul)!


I hit up my favourite health food store here in Ottawa, and these are the goodies I picked up today.

Newco Toothpaste in Spearmint, Kiss My Face Active Life Deodorant in Peaceful Patchouli, NOW Stevia Liquid extract, and Organic Traditions Triphala Powder!

After hearing from some mindful readers that Tom’s of Maine is no longer 100% cruelty-free (as they’ve been bought by a company that does test), I decided to take a look at other natural toothpastes. Newco‘s toothpaste is cruelty-free, gluten, fluoride, and sulphate free (and also made in Canada)! I’m going to try it before I sleep tonight, and I have never been so crazy excited to brush my teeth before. Ooh, the tea tree oil! I look forward to trying more of their goodies.

And I don’t give two shits if you call me a hippie for buying patchouli scented deodorant. Not only was this stuff on sale, but it claims to be aluminum, paraben, artificial fragrance, cruelty, and gluten-free! Patchouli is an extremely relaxing scent, and this deodorant goes on so smoothly and smells like a dream.

The stevia was something I picked up because I’ve been curious about it for a long time. I’m not a low-carber, but I’m always looking for different sweeteners that aren’t artifical and shite like aspartame. 4 drops of this in my green tea, and that is all I need!

As for the triphala, it is a very common tonic / cleanse used in Ayurvedic medicine (for the moms: Dr Oz spoke about it, so go buy it already). It helps with digestion, and can be added to smoothies, juice, etc. I wouldn’t advise drinking it with water, unless you’re ready to have a “damn, that was nasty” look on your face for a few hours. It’s often sold in capsules, but it is more expensive that way.

Expect feedback on the toothpaste and deodorant! Let’s hope I never stink again.

5 responses

  1. Brilliant! They all look exciting πŸ˜€ And you stick to your guns re. Patchouli. My mother LOVES patchouli. I like it if it’s over 10 years old, strange but true (it doesn’t go off, it just changes and mellows and deepens, like wine or men are supposed to πŸ˜‰ )Will wait for the feedback!

    • Norway, eh? Wow! At least there is the internet! Most major sites that carry organic / cruelty-free beauty and skin care products are American, so shipping and customs can be crazy expensive. I placed an order from Well.ca last night, and it was so awesome to finally order online and get free shipping (because it is a Canadian site). I am sure there is a market for a site like that in Norway, because shipping must cost a fortune for you up there.

      • πŸ™‚
        My local supermarket has their own brand, which actually is cruelty free. I use their toothpaste, but it’s not my favourite though.
        Customs and shipping can be very expensive, so I try to order most of my beauty products from websites that refund tax expenses.. It’s worth it though, I don’t mind paying a bit extra for that good conscience. πŸ™‚
        No animal tested products in my house, no sir! Haha… There are some norwegian sites too, but they don’t allways have the products I want…

Leave a Reply

