Guys and gals! Give your hair a break, with a hair detox treatment!


**Check out my update to this entry here, where I discuss using self-control when one has an essential oil obsession like I do!

Do you use a lot of product in your hair? Is your hair dry, frizzy, and starting to resemble hay? Even if it isn’t, it is important to consider what I’d call a hair detox. I alternate using this hair detox with shampoos and conditioners that are simple and are not harsh. This helps keep your hair looking its best in between haircuts; I noticed so much improvement in my hair’s texture. Not to mention, apple cider vinegar is an amazing detangler, because it helps seal and close the cuticle surrounding the hair shaft; making it shinier, and very easy to manage.

A hair detox, The Classy Anarchist style, is a way for you to keep your hair looking and feeling awesome, without all the shampoos, conditioners, and styling products you typically use. This gives your precious hair time to recover, and

What you will need:

  • Organic Apple Cider Vinegar or ACV (I used Braggs)
  • Baking Soda (any brand will do)
  • 2 empty lemon juice bottles; labelled (ie the RealLemon bottles with the special caps)
  • an assortment of essential oils (I used tea tree, lavender, and sea buckthorn)

First, make sure the lemon juice bottles are all rinsed out. One will be used for your baking soda wash (and shampoo replacement), and the other will be used for your apple cider vinegar rinse (conditioner equivalent). Each of these lemon juice bottles holds 440ml. As for the ratio of water: baking soda, and water: acv, I suggest starting out with a ratio of 1 cup water: 1 tbsp baking soda, and the same ratio for water: acv. You can then experiment by adding more or less baking soda / acv to the mix.

Baking Soda Wash:

  • Pour 1 TBSP baking soda into bottle
  • Fill almost to the top with lukewarm or cold water (it will just become room temperature anyways, and this is better for your hair cuticle than hot water).
  • Add in 3-6 drops of your favourite essential oils (I added about 5 drops of tea tree oil to help cleanse my hair and scalp, without being overly drying).
  • Shake it up! And you’re good to go.

Apple Cider Vinegar Rinse:

  • Same as with the baking soda wash, except add 1 TBSP acv to the second empty lemon juice bottle.
  • Fill with cold water.
  • Top off with some essential oils. I used 5 drops of lavender oil, and 4 of seabuckthorn seed oil. These oils will help soften my hair, help prevent dandruff, and other possible damages. Essential oils don’t have to be expensive (try Vitacost, or Well.ca), so it can be simple and fun to switch it up.

To use your homemade hair detoxes, shower as you normally would. First, rinse with the baking soda mix, while focusing on your scalp. Use just enough to saturate and massage your scalp with (a full preparation of this stuff lasts me about 4-5 washes). Next, rinse with the acv mix, focus on scalp and ends. Once you’ve used enough to saturate your hair, do whatever other shower business you need to take care of, and rinse the acv out of your hair with cold water (this may take some getting used to, but it’s definitely a good refresher in the mornings).

For more information on what essential oils might be best for your hair, check this nifty list out. Go here for some science-y talk about the effectiveness of acv on your hair.

*For those extremely put off by the sent of acv (this scent does not linger in your hair, by the way), you may replace it with white vinegar, or lemon juice. Lemon juice can colour your hair over time (I’ve noticed this on my hair), but when you have dark hair like myself, you ought to use with caution because your hair could turn more orange than the blonde you hoped for.

And there you have it! Happy hair days, everyone!

10 responses

      • I tried it! I used lavender e/o with the shampoo, and sweet orange and clary sage with the cider vinegar conditioner. I may have used too much, though: my hair feels definitely better than it did pre-wash, it still feels a bit heavy and not quite soft. However, I have used shampoo (even expensive cruelty free ones) that give my hair the same feeling – so it was a win at the end of the day! And good to know I can make it whenever I want, so thanks so much for that!

      • Yeah, I am still tinkering with the amounts of oils to use myself :) I’m glad you tried it! I’ve used the same recipes without any EOs, and that has worked too. I just have this ridiculous urge to incorporate EOs into everything :)

  1. Love this! I go ‘no poo’ style a lot :) Can’t stand the smell of vinegar though so have been infusing my vinegar solutions with orange, lemon & lime peels. Comes up a treat & smells fab!! xo

  2. Hello! This is a great idea thanks for sharing! I was wondering if you have any suggestions for shampoo and condition that are good for wavy hair?? Just to keep it healthy :) Thank you!! PS. Awesome blog! <3

    • Hey Ashley :)

      I’m not too sure. My hair tends to be quite wavy, but I don’t use any shampoo or conditioner that cater to that. I find the baking soda and acv stuffs tend to help keep my waves looking their best, because it doesn’t weigh it down. But I also don’t use any product. You may want to check out the DIY beachy waves entry that I reblogged from stilishbabe. It’s a couple entries down :) xoxox thank you for reading!

  3. Pingback: You can have too much of a good thing! | The Classy Anarchist

Leave a Reply

