You can have too much of a good thing!


A couple of entries ago (here, if you’d like to read), I posted about how to make your own baking soda, and apple cider vinegar hair washes/rinses. I wanted to post an update about this to explain how I’ve made it work best for me!

For those of us who’ve played around with custom moisturizers, cleansers, hair elixirs, and other DIY goodies, I’m sure we have all realized just how potent and powerful essential oils can be. The point of switching to a “no ‘poo” cleansing method is to cleanse and condition without all the excess product. The last thing we want to do is weigh our hair down!

my hair – drying, post-shower, sans product, and super shiny + purdy! All sans shampoo + conditioner. :)

Natural highlights, from all the lemon juice I used this past winter!

I no longer add essential oils to the baking soda / water mixture. I just use baking soda and water, and pour enough of the product over my scalp and hair, and gently rub my scalp with my fingers as I wash.

As for the apple cider vinegar rinse – essential oils are completely optional for this too. I used both mixtures sans essential oils for months, and my hair was quite fabulous. I find that the extra moisture does help, though. And I’m always looking for ways to help others make their hair extra awesome.

For myself, I’ve added 1-2 drops of ONE essential oil of my choice into the ACV mixture. I find this isn’t too much, and my hair feels much more weightless than if I’ve added multiple EOs. This is a great opportunity to experiment and see which oil you most prefer! The ACV will handle your hair’s cuticles, detangle, and ensure your hair is fabulously shiny.

Thanks for reading!

Like me on Facebook: The Classy Anarchist

Follow me on Instagram: @theclassyanarchist

Twitter: @classyanarchist

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Guys and gals! Give your hair a break, with a hair detox treatment! | The Classy Anarchist

Leave a Reply

