Are your gums sore? It could be your dental floss!


I attempted to fight the morning urge to get out of bed and blog, but why fight such a good thing? After about 45 minutes of trying to go back to sleep, I hauled myself out of bed around 6:45am, and here I am some time later (after being awake until about 3am last night), ready to write to you about something I really needed to mention.

First, let me say this: I love me some healthy gums. This isn’t a rant about how unhealthy it is to floss. Gotta get those chicken wing bits out from between our teeth somehow, eh!?

Store brand drugstore floss (left); sketchy dollar store floss (right)

The reason for this post began several weeks ago; it goes back to a purchase I never ever should have made: at the Dollar Store. I love dollar stores! I go there to buy my boxes, travel containers, organizers, cups, stickers, shipping supplies, nail files; the list is endless. Several weeks ago, I decided to buy the dental floss. I was there; it was cheap. Who could lose!? Bad idea.

I am not quite sure why it hadn’t dawned on me earlier, that I should include floss in the “don’t go there” category of dollar store goodies. The product seemed legit enough to me.

And this is where my aching gums began. About 3 days after using this dollar store floss, my gums began to ache. They didn’t bleed, but they ached. My entire mouth began to ache, in fact. It became painful to brush, and my entire gums would ache for about 10 minutes post-floss.

Thankfully, the solution was easy. I had been using some of my boyfriend’s flosser sticks that he buys, and noticed the ache became less and less each time I flossed. So I splurged and picked up the store brand of floss at the drug store. It has been about a week and a half not using the sketch dollar store floss, and my gums are loving life again!

So the question is: what on earth was in that damned floss to cause so much pain in my gums? I have yet to find any information online as to what the culprit is! Any ideas, folks!? What on earth do they coat that shit with!?

I am always for cutting costs, but spend that extra $2 and go for the drug store floss! Even better, let’s hear thoughts on natural/organic/health-conscious floss from brands such as Desert Essence, Tom’s of Maine, Spry, and others. Side note: Spry’s toothpaste is fabulous, by the way. Expect an article about that gem in the near future.

2 responses

  1. I am always leery about buying things such as topical- and internal-use products from the loonie store. I never buy things like lotions, shampoos, toothbrushes, etc. unless they are reputable brands AND the packaging clearly states the product was manufactured in Canada or the US. Dental floss would definitely be on my “NO WAY” list! I have no idea what could have been in your loonie store floss, but I would be terrified of it having lead or something in it…

    Painful lesson to learn, but thank you for sharing the risk with every body!

Leave a Reply

