My favourite moisturizers during breakouts!


Okay, so already I spilled my guts about coconut oil, and how much I love it. Don’t be surprised when I bring it up again, like in this post. BUT – I’ve got more for you; I swear.

I went through a shitty, and horribly zitty breakout in July, that seems to finally be tapering down. Typically, I’ll get a zit or two. But this time it was intense, and I felt like a creepy old troll. I found Acne.org, and have since incorporated advice from that site with my own knowledge of what works for me.

There have been three goodies I’ve used in this new routine, and they are affordable, cruelty-free (well fml if that organic virgin coconut oil ain’t cruelty-free), and work better than any expensive high maintenance brand ever has.


The deets: morning, and night, about 5 minutes after cleansing (with a boring, plain, fragrance-free cleanser), I mix about 4-5 drops of the roman chamomile in jojoba oil, with enough coconut oil to slather on my face (play with the amounts until you find what is right for you – enough so your skin feels comfortably moisturized, not tight, and soothed). If I feel the need, I will also will slather on some of the Earth Science Almond Aloe Fragrance Free Moisturizer. This facial moisturizer contains helpful ingredients like hyaluronic acid, jojoba seed oil, panax ginseng root, and licorice root extract! It is gentle enough for sensitive skin, and helped a lot to moisturize and heal all those stinkin’ zits.

GREEN MONSTER!

I have also put an end to all my insanely intense ingredient-packed face masks – except for my DIY clay masks. I have added roman chamomile in jojoba oil (about 3-5 drops), to my green clay paste (which is just green clay + water). The simpler, the better.

My skin feels so much better, and is well on its way to being clear again!

5 responses

Leave a Reply

