For the love of pores, keep it simple!


**WARNING**

This post will be highly opinionated, and is primarily based on my own experiences (and whatever semblance of logic I have left). If you take personal offense to what I have to say, I’d suggest never using the internet ever again.

I know just how easy it is to get enticed by the allure of trying a new skin care product. Even when I think of how silly it sounds, I still can’t shake the idea that there is one product out there that will be my holy grail product, and I will never have to worry about zits, dryness, or redness again. Sure, there are fabulous products out there, but they are often on the exact opposite end of the shelf you had been gawking at for the past 2 hours and 45 minutes.

It won’t be long before skin care brands sell cleansers that promise to make our boobs bigger, butts tighter, and our brains grow these cyborg sidekicks that read minds. The point is, cleansers do NOT need to be these powerhouse products they are turning into. The purpose of a facial cleanser is to gently, non-abrasively remove oil and dirt from our skin’s surface. We do not need all of the extra frills that many cleansers claim to have, whether it be a cleanser that claims to provide a deeper clean, keep your skin clean even after you’ve washed, or cleansers that contain some degree of salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide.

It is not that you never want to use products that contain ingredients like salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, or other skin-enhancing ingredients, but you aren’t going to see much of a benefit from these products in a cleanser. The product is only on your face for about 30 seconds, or less, and then it is washed off. So, smartypantses, why add extra ingredients to something, when it is totally unnecessary!?

Save the zit-zapping ingredients, and whatever other remedy-specific ingredients your skin requires, for the treatment products you apply after you cleanse. For example, toners, acne gels, moisturizers, serums, or even masks, and peels. These products sit on / absorb into the skin over an extended period, after you’ve cleansed, so you they have time for the ingredients to actually treat your skin woes.

Stick to cleansers that describe themselves as fragrance-free, gentle, a cleansing milk / cream instead of a gel, hypoallergenic, non-irritating, or for acne-prone skin. Many of the cleansers I’d suggest are not cruelty-free (Cetaphil, Spectro Jel), but there are cruelty-free options too (the Acne.org cleanser, for example). I’d suggest checking out Acne.org’s review section: it is a fabulous community!

6 responses

  1. “Iā€™d suggest never using the internet ever again.” hehehehehe funny! šŸ˜€ I agree,fortunately, because I quite like using the internet šŸ˜‰ I use an oil cleansing method twice a week, quite like making a milk and lemon juice cleanser, but mostly use a Lush cleanser. And no, I dont have perfect skin. Rassumfrassum, that would be nice šŸ˜€ But at least it’s not red, tight, and completely covered with breakouts, which quite a lot of other ‘super’ cleansers have done. Thanks for another entertaining and educational post! šŸ˜€

    • ā¤ ā¤ I'm so happy to hear you've found something that works for your skin! I've heard so much about the oil cleansing method. Would you perhaps be able to to give me details on the oil cleansing method you use? I'm Alyson Hearts Liberty on Facebook (or The Classy Anarchist). I've love to heard more about it. What Lush cleanser do you use? šŸ™‚

  2. I agree with you mostly on this, esp the bit about never going on the net again lol x But seriously, about cleansers, I think some are better than others, esp in quality , but given the amt of time they spend on your face, they don’t need to be super complicated. The only exception I would say are face scrubs and cleansing oils. My reasons are that I keep these on my face for at least 5 minutes at a time. Now, that’s just me personally. My face scrub I will use to gently buff my skin and then I leave it on like a mask for 5 min. to get more out of it. My cleansing oil is something I massage into my skin for a minute or so then leave on for about 5 as well to let the moisture absorb into my skin. That’s just something I do. Aside from that, I’d say what’s more important than spending tons of cash on a cleanser is buying crappy cleansers like Clean & clear from the drugstore. Or as I like to call them, glorified hand soap. Because if you compare the ingredients, they are nearly the same except clean & clear may have some salicylic acid in the formula. Ugh I hate those cheap crap cleansers! lol now I may have to blog on it to reduce the amt of rage I feel building… thanks for posting on this! x

    • Totally agree about the Clean and Clear shit + so many other brands. It is like putting harsh dish soap (really worse than just hand soap) on your face. Natural skin care is constantly improving, and I think still has some ways to go in terms of covering all skin types adequately. ha ha ha – I feel your rage, girl!!!

      • Yeah definitely. It’s a shame because drugstore makeup is making more strides than the cleansers. I don’t get it? Even the moisturizers are slowly improving. If they can improve their greenness and things, it would be great. I totally agree with constant improvements for natural skincare. They are always evolving – lol thnks glad someone else feels my pain! xx

  3. Pingback: Cheap Drugstore Cleansers Are the Devil + How To Get the Most Out Of Your Cleansers | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

Leave a Reply

